Weronika Filipowska

Nationality: Polish
Age: 24


Topic of your PhD work: Determination of critical factors in malt production related to the flavor stability of final beer.

Two universities you will be enrolled to:

University 1 (employer):
KU Leuven, Belgium
University 2:
University of Nottingham, United Kingdom

Name of supervisor 1:
prof. Luc De Cooman
Name of supervisor 2:
Dr Chris Powell

Education background:

Field of study for your BSc: Yeast cell stress
University of your BSc: Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences
Field of study for your MSc: Fermentation process
Topic of your MSc: Comparative study on biofuel producing-potential of selected thermophilic and mesophilic strains
University of your MSc: Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences

Short description of your MSc work:

Investigation of MSc was leaded in international environment (Iceland and Poland). The main objective was to compare the biofuel producing potential of selected Icelandic thermophilic ethanologens with an industrial mesophilic strain Saccharomyces cerevisiae. A total of 11 desirable bioprocessing were evaluated for all the strains. Results presented advantages and disadvantages of application of investigated strains for advanced biofuel production.

Why did you decide to apply for the EJDFoodSci?

The most encouraging aspect of the EJDFoodSci project is possibility to work and gain education in the topic of brewing in an international environment. It is a great opportunity to advance knowledge with help of top class specialists, to take part in conferences, to keep up–to-date on latest brewing trends and to cooperate with people from different backgrounds. Moreover all EJD projects are University – Business cooperation which contributes to innovative industrial applications which has a practical usage.

Please list top 5 things you find most attractive in this project?

1. Working in an international environment.
2. Possibility to gain education in the topic of brewing.
3. Practical aspect of the project based on university-business cooperation.
4. Cooperation with top-class specialists.
5. Working in a laboratory fully equipped in new and innovative technology.

How did you find the whole process of recruitment, how did you feel during the evaluation, interviews, etc.?

All information about the project as well as the application requirements were public, clear and with easy access. If any doubt has occurred, the answer was given by Coordinator immediately. The interview was leaded in a positive atmosphere full of respect and concern, the recruitment committee was familiar with candidate application forms. After the interview the feedback was sent.

What did you think/how did you feel when you received the letter informing that you were accepted for the ESR position?

When I received the letter with job offer I was full of joy. My wish of having opportunity to develop career in international environment on the topic of bewaring came true. I wanted to share this wonderful information with my friends and family and arrange all formalities immediately to start investigation as soon as possible.

What do you think will be the most challenging thing in the EJDFoodSci?

The most challenging aspect of the project is its complexity – investigation is going to be leaded in both laboratory and pilot scale with a strong cooperation university – business. Additionally to research, students are going to have specialization courses and secondments to project partners. These mean that very good organization skills and big motivation is required to accomplish this complex project within 3 years.

How do you imagine yourself in year 2020, when the project is over? What do you think you will do in the future?

I hope that within 3 years of the EJDFoodSci project time I would become a specialist on the topic of malt and beer production. I believe that all the knowledge and professional experience as well as developed communication skills and international connections will help me to develop my career in European dimension. After 2020 I would like to continue my work and to contribute to advancement of the malt and beer market.

What are your hobbies, what you like doing in your free time?

I am very active person who use every possibility to travel, to get to know different cultures and to try local beer.  “Having a beer” is an important event for me – it helps to start a relation with recently met people and to benefit relationship with friends, so I dedicate some of my free time to “have a beer”. I am keen on trying local food while traveling, reading detective stories, going to fitness and following science news and discoveries.